University of Minnesota
Department of Philosophy
myU OneStop

Department of Philosophy


  • Philosophy of Science Grant Awarded

    Associate Professor Alan Love in the Department of Philosophy was awarded a $2 million grant from the John Templeton Foundation for his work on biological practice to scientific metaphysics. His coinvestigators are C. Kenneth Waters (University of Calgary), Marcel Weber (University of Geneva), and William Wimsatt (University of Minnesota/University of Chicago), who holds the Winton Chair in Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota College of Liberal Arts. read more

  • Faculty in the News - Happiness, Well-Being, and Money

    Prof. Valerie Tiberius was featured in WalletHub’s recent study about 2015's most and least happy states in America. See her answers to questions about the key ingredients of a happy life and secrets to career contentment here.

  • Open Faculty Position: History of Philosophy

    The Department of Philosophy invites applications for a full-time, tenure-track faculty position in history of philosophy beginning fall semester 2016. Appointment will be 100% time over the nine-month academic year and at the rank of tenure-track assistant professor consistent with collegiate and University policy. Required qualifications: Ph.D. in philosophy or related field. Areas of specialization: History of philosophy. Areas of competence: We are seeking someone whose research interests complement others in the department. Inquiries about the position should be directed to Professor Alan Love. To apply or learn more about the position, please go here. 09/02/15
  • Philosophy Undergraduates Awarded Department Scholarships

    Philosophy undergraduate majors Alexander Barry and Kevin Lie are the recipients of the Cattron-Woodbridge Scholarships and majors Glory Hall and Wolfgang Tattenbach are the recipients of the Dr. Eldon L. and Helen H. Stevens Scholarship. Each of the scholarships confers a stipend of $1,000 for AY2014-15, made possible through the generosity of our donors.

    Lawrence Cattron was a philosophy major in 1930 and found the experience to be invaluable in shaping his life and career. Frederick Woodbridge was an early 20th century American philosopher who taught at Minnesota. Helen Stevens, in appreciation of the opportunity the university gave her and her husband, established the scholarship in honor of him in order to make the same opportunity available to the upcoming generation of philosophers.

  • Philosophy Undergraduates Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

    Five undergraduate students majoring in philosophy have been elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most highly regarded academic honor society in the United States, by the Alpha Chapter of the University of Minnesota: Karl-Magnus Gustav Brose, Brendan M. Caldwell, Maxwell S. Davis, Claire Marie Holtz, and Nathan Michael Omdalen. Congratulations!

  • Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships Awarded

    Congratulations to John "Jack" Powers on being selected as recipient for 2015-2016 Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship.

    “Criteria of Characterizational Adequacy and Philosophy of Science,”
    Adviser: Alan Love.

  • College of Liberal Arts First Year Fellowship Awarded

    Max W. Dresow, Adviser: Alan Love
    Saint Olaf College, Biology, B.A. 2010
    University of Minnesota, Evolution, Ecology, and Biology, MSc., 2015

  • Undergraduates Receive Selmer Birkelo Scholarships

    Congratulations to undergraduate philosophy majors Wolfgang Tattenbach and Jonathan Willard, who were recently awarded 2014-15 CLA Selmer Birkelo Scholarships. To be considered for a Birkelo Scholarship, students must be majoring in fields relating to history, modern languages, classics, or the social and behavioral sciences, and must be nominated to the Office of the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs by their major department. For the 2014-15 academic year, Birkelo Scholarship recipients will receive up to $4,000, dependent on demonstrated financial need.

  • Graduate Student Spotlight: Awards and Highlights

    Brian Wilson has been selected as a 2014-2015 recipient for the Global Spotlight Doctoral Dissertation Award through the Global Programs and Strategy Alliance (GPS Alliance). Read more about his research here.

    Shay Logan was recently highlighted in CLA Reach Magazine. Read more about his dissertation project on the philosophical analysis of mathematical practice here.

  • New Faculty Member To Join the Department

    The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce that Samuel Fletcher will join the faculty in Fall 2015. His work focuses on the foundations of physics and of statistics, and explores how problems in these fields inform and are informed by broader issues in the philosophy of science. Additional interests include the conceptual and physical basis of computation, the philosophy of applied mathematics, and the history of physics and philosophy of science.

  • Philosophy of Science Grant Awarded

    Associate Professor Alan Love has been awarded a $425,000 grant from the John Templeton Foundation for his project "Integrating Generic and Genetic Explanations of Biological Phenomena," with co-principal investigator William Wimsatt (Winton Chair in the Liberal Arts). This project brings together a diverse team of scholars in philosophy and biology to address the problem of integrating different types of explanations from scientific approaches to better understand life's complexity. The project will result in substantial advances in our understanding of three different domains of biological phenomena, establish a new collaborative networks of scientists, and illuminate the means and motivation of progress in biological knowledge over time.

  • Faculty Member Named Associate Editor

    Congratulations to Michelle Mason for being selected as an associate editor for the journal Ethics. Read more here...

  • Faculty Member Award

    Congratulations to Alan Love who was named Scholar of the College (2013-2016) by the College of Liberal Arts.

  • Undergraduate Research in Philosophy

    Interested in doing cutting-edge research in an area of philosophy? The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) makes this possible. UROP provides grants of up to $1,700 for undergraduate students either to carry out a project of the student's own design in close collaboration with a faculty sponsor or work with a faculty member on her/his scholarly or creative project. In the process you develop a detailed knowledge of research methods while the faculty sponsors gain the assistance of enthusiastic and capable students.

    For more details about UROP, as well as application materials, please click here.
    If you have questions about UROP, please contact
    Wendy Nicholson-Kotas, Coordinator
    Individualized Degree Programs
    30 Johnston Hall, (612) 624-8006


Department of Philosophy Weekly Thursday Meetings

Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science Events

Moral, Political, Legal, Social (MPLS) Theory Workshop Events